Reviews From VRBO

Incredible house and location.

Everything about our stay was phenomenal. Starting with my communication with Pat. She answered all our questions, sent great information about the area, made key chains for us to take home and was there when we took a wrong turn to guide us to the house. She is awesome. Cheo the caretaker also lives next door, so if we needed anything it was great to know he was there.

The house is incredible. We were looking for a beach house to relax and enjoy the beach. This property exceeded our expectations. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed, even an ice maker. Plenty of beach chairs, towels, beach toys, umbrella and an outdoor shower to rinse off. Thoroughly enjoyed using the bikes and taking rides down the beach. Sitting under the covered patio and watching the ocean and star glazing at night was so relaxing. The house is located at the end of the most beautiful beach and is very quiet. Most of the time we had the whole beach to ourselves. One of the highlights was boogie boarding and watching the gorgeous sunset. It was nice to have the air conditioner in the master bedroom to sleep at night. The bed was very comfortable.

We have stayed in many rentals through the years and hands down this is the best. Can’t wait to come back. Thank you for sharing your beautiful property.

Published Apr 8, 2019

The place and the house are beauthiful, confortable. We had everything we needed!!

 

 

Excellent

Stayed Mar 2019

The perfect place for a vacation with your family!! Including your dogs!!

Published Mar 9, 2019

Best Kept Secret

This is one of those houses that you selfishly don't want to give a good review to because you don't want it to be booked all year long.

Our group contained Ticos and internationals and hands down across the board, this is one of the best houses if not THE BEST house we have ever stayed in.

From the beginning of the process to the end, the whole thing was impeccable

Published Feb 22, 2019

Awesome

Stayed Jan 2019

Second time there, enjoyed it as much as the first time.

 

Published Jan 30, 2019

We had a wonderful time at Sand Dollar Cove and will be coming back again!

Stayed Dec 2018

The property was exactly as the pictures portrayed and the beach was very private! Cheo and Pat were both available for any questions we had and were always offering extra services to us. When we arrived we were greeted by a driftwood Christmas tree that Pat had built for us! It was the most peaceful and relaxing atmosphere we could ever have hoped for! Thank you for such special memories~~

Published Jan 6, 2019

Pura Vida!

This was an amazing stay!

Stayed Dec 2018

Kema W.

We absolutely loved the sand dollar cove. Waking each day to waves and roosters was just the get away from cars and sirens that our clients needed. Everything we needed for beach fun was included and that was a big surprise! Pat was just a phone call or text message away and extremely responsive and helpful. Cheo cut cocos for us two evenings in a row, super delicious! This location and community was a dream, thank you for allowing us to use your home!

Published Dec 19, 2018

Owner's Response:

Beautiful well maintained oceanfront dreamscape

Stayed Jul 2018

Beautiful well furnished and spacious. Welcoming community and the landscape in the area has all the beauty of eden. If private and breathtaking are what you seek, this is the place you. If you desire excursions and adventure Patty will always be able to fill your needs.

We cant say enough to encompass the whole experience.

Thank you for you commitment to ensuring your guest an opportunity to tuely experience Pura Vida!

Rob & Shawna Spellman

Published Aug 23, 2018

Great location! beachfront and still quite private

5/5

Stayed Mar 2018

Mariano O.

Easter is one of the busiest times at CR beaches but at SDC you can be a few steps from the ocean and still avoid the crowds. Whole family loved it, will be coming back.

Published Apr 4, 2018

Owner's Response:

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It is true....at SDC it is almost like having a private beach:) It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your family again to Sand Dollar Cove!

Great Place!

5/5

Stayed Feb 2018

david b.

Stayed Feb, 2018. Great place, exactly as advertised. Pat is a most helpful host, and really helped us to get the very most out of our stay.

You can pay less, but if you want to treat yourself/family/friends, this place is worth every penny. Beautiful home, with all desired amenities provided, and basically on your own private beach!

We will return!

Dave and Nancy Blundell - Feb 20 - 28, 2018

Published Mar 12, 2018

Owner's Response:

Hola Dave & Nancy!

We are so very happy you enjoyed your stay at Sand Dollar Cove! So glad you had the opportunity to experience this place we call paradise.

We look forward to your return....and we have another waterfall to share with you!

Pura Vida!

Stupendous

5/5

Stayed Feb 2018

ray k.Fort Collins, CO, USA

Just exactly we wanted in a secluded beachfront home. Super comfortable beds, stunning views from every window, modern kitchen with everything we wanted from rice maker to a blender that actually worked and a nice new propane grill on the deck. Couldn't have asked for more.

Published Feb 13, 2018

Love this place!

5/5

Stayed Jan 2018

Jamie H.

Our favorite place on the beach. Beautiful, private, everything you need to relax and enjoy. Highly recommended!

Published Jan 22, 2018

Excellent location

5/5

Stayed Dec 2017

Genevieve L.

Very fine house, fully equipped, on remote and secluded beach. Patricia is a very sympathetic and helpful host. Would go back!

Published Dec 30, 2017

Exc

5/5

Stayed Dec 2017

Megan A.

Nos hospedamos toda mi familia y fueron más que maravillosas las vacaciones en este lugar, tranquilo y muy seguro, el cuidador muy amable, la playa y casa perfectas, espero volver 😎

Published Dec 27, 2017

very secluded beachhouse

5/5

Stayed Aug 2017

Monika Z.Munich

This was really an experience. Wonderful house close to the beach, completely furnished also equipped with beach stuff like towels, buggy boards, chairs, umbrellas.

We loved this house.

Published Aug 30, 2017

Best house on Playa San Miguel

5/5

Stayed Jul 2017

Jamie H.

Love this place and will stay here again. Very private, beautiful beach and all the amenities of home. Highly recommended!

Published Jul 28, 2017

Beautiful place

5/5

Stayed Feb 2017

Stephanie L.Massachusetts

When I told my 5 year old daughter that the vacation was over and that we were leaving Sand Dollar Cove the next day, she completely lost it, saying that she did not want to leave. Well, I really could not blame her because I was feeling the exact same thing. We had just spent a great, relaxing week. The house is really nice and the location just amazing. Pat and Cheo were very helpful. Thank you Jim and Elizabeth for sharing your little corner of paradise with strangers.

Published Feb 27, 2017

Peace

5/5

Stayed Feb 2017

Beth W.

My pulse and my breathing automatically slow down as we turn into the driveway approaching the house, and I catch a glimpse of the sparkling Pacific. I take a deep breath and fill up with the serenity of the surroundings. I'm on Tico time now. I've already set my watch to Sand Dollar Cove time, so I can absorb every magical moment of my stay.

Published Apr 14, 2017

Great Family Vacation House

5/5

Stayed Jan 2017

Jess H.

Our family had a wonderful stay at Sand Dollar Cove beach house. We wanted a more remote location to get away from most of the touristy beaches in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. Pat and Chello who help care for the property were great. It is a bit off the beaten path but we found it worth the drive if you can stay for several days to relax and enjoy. The house was right on the beach and quite isolated, there were very few people on the beach so it really felt like a family get-away. The house had some boogy boards and sand toys we enjoyed playing with. The beach was fun to explore, tide pools and sand crabs to watch. We were woken up to monkeys most mornings and enjoyed the feeling of being away from it all. The house is simple and nice, not a real luxury-type house but for the location it was nice. We enjoyed the back porch and balcony to see the beach, enjoyed reading in the hammocks and reclining chairs. We would advise bringing some insect repellent, we loved to eat outside and the bugs were out. We enjoyed some of the local restaurants and shopped in San Francisco de Coyote for food as well. We bought some local fresh fish that was great. We did not explore any further than about 10km North or South as we just enjoyed the beach. Overall we enjoyed the stay and for a remote low-key location would consider staying again.

Published Jan 25, 2017

 

Absolute Heaven

5/5

Stayed Apr 2016

Kristen J.

The stars reflected like little lights in the smooth sheets of water that washed up on the beach in front of the house the evening we arrived. That is when I knew we were in for something special staying at Sand Dollar Cove. We were given exacting instructions on how to get there. The roads were easy to navigate and were in good condition, though the trek is not for the feint of heart. We wanted to get away from it all and enjoy time with family and friends in a setting ripe for adventure and SDC was the perfect fit for us. Our party included four adults and six children, four of whom were teenagers. We spent our days reading in the hammocks (great collection of books at the house - thanks!), sitting on the spacious porch overlooking the beach, boogie boarding, playing in the waves and riding the bike along the beach all the way to the estuary. In San Francisco de Coyote, we discovered a bakery and got to know the local grocer; he made us special drinks & helped us find food for all those teenagers. Pat (the manager) made sure we had all we needed and helped arrange to do a kayak trip through the mangroves. She had great recommendations for restaurants that were a short drive away. Cheo (the caretaker) brought us fresh eggs every morning, made pinto gallo & fresh tortillas for us, fried up fresh fish and made enough arroz con pollo that we actually had leftovers! (no small feat with a house full of teenagers) Cheo's son took the kids fishing one morning and Cheo made a bonfire for us on the beach. The howling monkeys woke us in the morning and we quickly adapted to the local habit of going to bed with the sun. By week's end, we felt like locals and could have stayed forever.

Published Jun 11, 2016

Beautiful home away from home

5/5

Stayed Feb 2015

Van L.

The stay at Sand Dollar Cove was exactly as it is advertised. Beautiful house where you spend the majority of your time bouncing from the porch to the beach. If you want to truly have a place where you spend more time conversing and spending time with your friends instead of on your phone this is it. IPat is amazing and will help you in any way possible to set up any adventure, find you food, make a store run, and recommend local businesses that are very friendly. You can order fresh fish and local meats. Cheo is very helpful and always around to assist you. Locals are friendly. Pizza Tree, Loco Coco, Cristal Azul are a few places I would recommend going to. The best day of the trip included a small tremor of an earthquake to wake you up, turtles hatching and making the ocean run, bonfire with fresh fish wrapped in banana leafs, and to end the night luminescence in the water. Thanks Jim, Pat, Bill, and Cheo for making our stay memorable and amazing. See you again!!

Published Mar 12, 2015

“The way it should be!”

5/5

Stayed Jan 2015

Tony G.

Playa San Miguel is a piece of paradise that is secluded but well worth the trek. We travelled with 6 adults and 7 children under 7 throughout Costa Rica and this was by consensus the best place we stayed. Travelling by private bus from Samara is a beautiful drive along the coastal mountains including a river crossing that everyone loved! (make sure if you have a rental vehicle and decide to cross the river you know where you are going and the tides). Patty the manager of the property will ensure you arrive safe and introduce you to Cheo the caretaker (farmer) and orientate you with the property. The property is a modern large 4 bedroom house directly on the beach. Upstairs are 2 large bedrooms both with bathrooms and the master bedroom has a soaker tub. Downstairs two more spacious bedrooms with a shared bathroom. There is a very modern kitchen and sitting area and out side overlooking the beach is the covered dinning area where we spent most of our time.There is an outdoor shower to wash away the tons of beach sand that you bring back with you. Two hammocks topped off the theme " off the beaten path in style" The beach itself was the best we saw on our trip with KM and KM of amazing sand and no people. There is one bar made out of an old shipping container on the beach which may sound bad but was actually very nice and the food was great. If you want fresh food Patty will arrange fresh fish off the boat wihich we did and it was fantastic! Cheo will also give you fresh eggs or chicken if you request it. There is not much to do here but to relax and enjoy the incredible beauty but a few attractions we did take advantage of were the Mike's butterfly farm and he is a charismatic, ,knowledgeable warm host, surfing with fellow Canadians Wild by Nature Adventures, This for us is the way Costa Rica should be visited and enjoyed, A word of warning if you travel here, it is not easy to get to but worth it and if you are relying on transportation other than your own do not pick the taxi out of here! You will not be disappointed if you pick this location and we hope to return!!

Published Mar 20, 2015

10 days in a little paradise

5/5

Stayed Dec 2014

Christina H.

This house was our hidden paradise. We stayed there for 10 days and it seemed like forever! I can still smell and hear the ocean.

The house is located directly on the beach! The view from the balcony and patio is amazing. A few steps and you can dive into the ocean, jump with the waves or have a never ending walk on the beach! During our stay, it was a little bit like our private beach, as there were almost no one else. Even in the high season, Playa San Miguel must be a very quiet and relaxing place. Having a car is necessary in my opinion. You can reach San Francisco de Coyote easily then - there you get everything you need (e.g. supermarket, over there, take a rest at Heikes Cafe Sante and have dinner at the Restaurant Loma Clara).

Everything was 100% clean, well equipped - there is nothing you would wish for in addition to what you get! We had the pleasure to use the brand new barbecue for the first time! Thanks Cheo, who ís the house keeper, for the excellent fresh fish and chicken and of course everything else.

Pat is taking warm care for the guests - thank you dear Pat for guiding us to Sand Dollar Cove from Playa Naranjo, making all the arrangements for us, your reccomendations and just for spending some time with you!

Some genearal aspects: We were only two people but the house fits very well for families or bigger groups as there are 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, so privacy is guaranteed. Furniture, amenities, equipment with very good style and high standard.

We took the Ferry to Playa Naranjo and drove to Playa San Miguel. More convenient may be to fly to Punta Islita and hire a car from there.

Our favorites; Heikes Cafe Sante for Sandwiches, Smoothies, cakes and every day another sweet surprise; Loma Clara Restaurant; Tanga´s in Punta Coyote, Casa Caletas - beautiful sunset!

Activities: Walking on the beach, swimming, relaxing, reading, paddle on the Rio Jabillo, hiking to the waterfalls, eating fresh fish... and much more! Pat provides all information, maps, etc you need!

We can highly recommend this place - we already did to our friends!

Thanks for this unforgettable stay!

Best wishes from Germany,

C&H

Published Jan 8, 2015

Owner's Response:

Dear Christina, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sand Dollar Cove! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your returning to our "little paradise"!

Heavenly, Beautiful, Spendid, Lovely & Delicious

5/5

Stayed Nov 2014

Virginia G.

Our stay is best described as a serene experience with a genuine calming day to day feeling. Our roller coaster feeling with life events transitioned to a peaceful and tranquil place. We enjoyed strolls on the secluded beach, views of gorgeous sunsets and relaxing naps in the hammocks. Chaos, the caretaker, and his family were very gracious and prepared scrumptious meals with fresh fruits and vegetables from the property. Two steps down from this fine dining on the terrace we gazed at a multitude of stars. We found favorite places to swim and sun. All the comforts and conveniences were available in the beachhouse. We enjoyed wonderful seafood at local restaurants, toured the butterfly farm (entertaining & educational) and experienced the full life cycle of sea turtles at a nearby beach (exhilarating)! Prior to arriving at Playa San Miguel we experienced a 26 zip lining attraction over 11 waterfalls in Miramar. We definitely plan to return in 2015. We can hardly wait! The listing was accurate, the property was clean and well kept, the owner provided excellent customer service and we have already recommended the property to our friends and family.

Published Jan 17, 2015

just what we were looking for

5/5

Stayed Jul 2014

Elliot B.

We can't recommend this house enough. The house was comfortable, the beach was private and beautiful, the water was warm, the surroundings were amazing! Cheo the caretaker was kind and helpful, sharing homegrown squash and taking us to a nearby fishing village (at 6 AM) to buy delicious red snapper right off the boat. His lovely son treated us to young delicious coconut. Pat, a nearby neighbor and local contact was helpful and friendly, and directed us to a wonderful butterfly/bee tour with Mike. Thanks

to all of you.

Published Aug 14, 2014

 

 

Breathtaking Pacific Paradise

5/5

Stayed Apr 2014

Marie R.

The first time I vacationed at Sand Dollar Cove was January 2009. If you don't want the waves to sing you to sleep or the howling of the monkeys to wake you up then this isn't the vacation for you. The house is gorgeous and sits at the end of an isolated beach. The crystal blue waters of the Pacific Ocean are a few small steps away. I loved every second I was there...the sunsets are breathtaking, the sunrises are worth getting out of bed to see, and if you are a nature buff....wow. The Ticos in the area are friendly and love it when you at least try to speak a little Spanish. And the food....yummy (I highly recommend Los Corrales). Paradise almost isn't enough to describe this place because it was so much more than that. I would highly recommend this spot if you were looking for a relaxing getaway from everything. Not only do I love this spot, I have returned 6 times since 2009.

Published Feb 1, 2015

Inviting and comfortable, exactly as described.

5/5

Stayed Mar 2014

2001Miata

This was my second trip to San Dollar Cove and as with the previous stay I found every thing that I could want in a vacation. Excellent beach, great location, extremely helpful property manager and a happy caretaker.

Remember that the drive "Over The Mountain" is awesome although the road is not for the faint of heart at night. Walk the beach and collect sand dollars or just relax, either way this is the place to get away from everything.

Excellent internet connection so you can keep up with the world if needed although not recommended as the world will still be there when you get home.

This time I had fresh fish, caught that morning that I purchased in Bejuco and prepared by Doris. I like fish and this was the best I have had.

I can not recommend SDC enough.

Published Apr 9, 2014

Perfect!

5/5

Stayed Sep 2012

This place is amazing in every detail! The house is completely up to date with every essential and was sparkiling clean upon arrival. The style of the house is very mordern which I liked a lot. the property is huge and the beach in front of the house is very nice with awesome views in the morning and at sunset. While we were there for 8 days we only saw maybe 10 people on the beach. The terrace is a great place to have meals and watch the monkeys! The property caretaker is very nice and he can help you with anything you may need. The Property manager is also very nice and knowledgeable of the surrounding area. Together, they made our trip so much better! The surrounding area is very secluded but is very pretty and everyone is friendly. There are 2 grocery stores nearby with pretty much everything you will need as well as some local restaurants with GREAT Food! I highly reccommend visiting sand dollar cove and we will be returning when possible. Thank you to the Owner, property manager, and caretaker for making our vacation so incredible!

Published Oct 19, 2012

relaxing

5/5

Stayed Mar 2012

wade g.

We came here with my wife and two teenage boys , mother in law, and sister in law and husband, the house is exactly what you see. the trip is a bit long but well worth it. we were there at its busiest time do to easter vacation but there wasn't any feeling of crowding as you could still walk the beach with out having to avoid people. we traveled around the area some and found the people to be very friendly and helpful. the time spent here is very relaxing and quite even the monkeys weren't a problem. some tips for your trip are to get the GPS when you rent the car, if your first search for a location dosen't work try something closer and then search again when you get to that point. get the bigger 4x4 it is worth the money, we got one small 4x4 and one large one , the small car was very ruff and did not handle the roads very well. and don't forget to slow down. hope to be back soon.

Published Jul 12, 2012

Can't Wait to Return

5/5

Stayed Mar 2012

Robyn B.

We love this place! We've stayed at a few places in Costa Rica now and this is our favorite. The house is clean and we felt very comfortable here from the minute we arrived. Being so close to the beach was great. Each morning we would go for walks on the beach and find perfect sand dollars. A quick breakfast and back to the beach for boogie boarding which was so much fun. It's a short walk up the beach to find dinner at a restaurant or a perfect setting to make dinner, sit on the patio and watch the sun set. I would definitely recommend to anyone that wants a quiet spot right on the beach.

Published Nov 10, 2012

SAND DOLLAR COVE PARADISE

5/5

Stayed Feb 2012

Kirstin P.

I cannot imagine a place more scenic, intimate and inviting than Sand Dollar Cove, and for that reason, my husband and I will always return to this spot for our Costa Rican vacations. This home was modern in all its amenities, had large bathrooms, air-conditioned bedrooms, a cozy living room and offered picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean from every room with amazing sunset views and starry nights that were unlike anything we have ever witnessed. The owners have recently built the home and have incredible taste and see to it that the home is kept immaculate. They were so helpful in seeing that we had excellent directions and gave us many tips on things to do and avoid. The property manager was there to greet us on arrival and guided us as much and as little as we wanted and was so helpful in planning our daytime excursions. However, it was difficult for us to leave our perfect Paradise so we limited our activities on this trip to some restaurant outings that were fresh and delicious, shopping, horseback riding, and a jungle butterfly tour that was surprisingly wonderful. The beach walks were our favorite. There is a reason the home is named Sand Dollar Cove and all you have to do is step off the back porch onto the beach and make a right....you will be amazed!! We highly recommend Sand Dollar Cove, but hope that it is not booked when we are ready to return! We feel so fortunate to have discovered this piece of Paradise.

Kirstin & John Pennington

Published Oc Rest and Relaxation defined

5/5

Stayed Feb 2012

alcida L.

Do you want to get away from it all yet have all the comforts of home? This place is for you.

My husband and I spent a month here (friends joined us for two weeks) and we loved it.

Getting there is an experience and we strongly suggest you rent a four wheel drive and stock up on groceries before your arrival. The home and the experience is worth the drive. The house is very well laid out and fully equiped. Rice cooker to ice maker - what more could you ask for?

Pat (manager) and Cheo (caretaker ) were always available and willing to help whenever we asked for anything. We had an unfortunate occurance related to lifting tiles during our visit. Within a day, we had visits from "experts", the owner flew down to Costa Rica and repairs were done immediately. Everything was done to make sure that we were well looked after and comfortable while the work was being carried out.

Our lives have been very busy since our visit to Playa San Miquel but we will hold the memories in our hearts forever.

We miss Cheo, his fresh eggs, mangos,bananas and fish; reading in the hammocks; walking for hours on the beach; collecting sanddollars; boogie boarding; the almost daily visit of the howler monkeys ,,,I wish I could go back tomorrow.

Thank you Jim for sharing your wonderful home.

Published Jun 6, 2012

Best beach ever

5/5

Stayed Jan 2012

Taylor H.

After searching for a house right on the beach in Costa Rica, we found Sand Dollar Cove and we were not disappointed. House is very comfortable and the support from the Property Manager and on-site Caretaker was terrific. But the star of this show is the beach - miles and miles of - nothing! I think we might have seen 15 people in a week. Just beautiful walking sand, warm water and great sunsets. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a remote beach getaway. Getting there was half the fun - definitely need a 4-wheel drive and ability to follow driving instructions!

Cell reception and internet is sketchy if that matters to you. Wrangled an iguana out of the house. Both added to the charm but might not be for everyone!

Many thanks for a memorable week.

Published Feb 1, 2012

Exactly as pictured .. an absolute diamond !

5/5

Stayed Mar 2011

2001 MiataRothesay, New Brunswick, Canada

We booked for a week and should of stayed for two. This property is exactly as pictured. Exceptionally clean and well organized, everything that you need is supplied. The owner was prompt with his replies to any questions that we had and went out of his way to ensure that we had a great time. The on-site manager was there to help you with any questions and went out of her way to help with purchasing fresh poultry and fish. Take her advise as to which local restaurants you should go to although I would strongly recommend Rancho Loma Clara in St. Francisco de Coyote. Have Raphael's crepe dessert, best I have ever had.

Pay attention to the directions given by the owner as to how to get to SDC. If they say drive to the stop sign beside the soccer field, do that, they are correct although the drive from San Jose to Carmona is easy the remainder is not for the faint of heart. If you want traffic lights and four lane paved roads stay home .. if you want an adventure that you will spend the next year if not the next two talking about then take the mountain road and live a little.

Spend some time talking with the ex-pats living in the area, each has a story that will amaze you as to why they came to Costa Rica.

Ask the on-site manager to arrange for Dora to cook dinner for you, it is worth the money just to meet her husband and little boy. Make sure you pay her more than what she asks for, she is worth it and see that you have some chocolate for Jefferson, her son. Remember that they live on between $1 - $2 per day.

Pura Vida

Published Apr 10, 2011

Honeymoon Hideaway

5/5

Stayed Sep 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a week during our honeymoon this September and had an excellent time. We were there during "rainy season", which, if you dont mind a day or two of rain, means a majority of sunshine, absolutely empty beaches, very verdant forests, cheaper prices, and a chance to really unwind and relax.

The property manager, Pat was so nice and very accommodating. Whatever we needed she made sure we had it. In fact, everyone we met there was an absolute delight and are already discussing which of our friends we are gonna bring back down there with us!

Published Sep 30, 2010

You have to see this place! Amazing!

5/5

Stayed Aug 2010

Jayanti S.Deland, FL

We just visited in mid August 2010 for a week and we had such an incredible time at Sand Dollar Cove. Jim, Pat and Cheo were some the most generous, kindhearted, helpful people I have ever met! We were taken such good care of by them, which really made the trip even more wonderful. The pictures really don't do the house or area justice because we were stunned with how beautiful it actually was. The house is very large, clean and cozy. The beach was right at our doorstep and there was so much to discover there. When it's low tide there are beautiful rocks, tide pools, cliffs, stunning views! I highly recommend; Corislita and Punta Islita beaches nearby! There are also horseback riding opportunities and an informative and beautiful butterfly tour that you can take from the neighbors. All in all we had a fabulous time and would love to return! Jim made sure we had everything we needed and even helped us get around. I highly recommend this home for your visit!

Published Aug 27, 2010

 

Secluded Paradise Sand Dollar Cove

5/5

Stayed Jul 2010

ray k.Fort Collins, CO, USA

An absolutely amazing spot to literally get away from it all. Six of us whove seen nearly all of Costa Rica over the last 20 years of travel were blown away by a long weekend at Sand Dollar cove! Boogie boarding, stand-up-paddle boarding, surf casting, fishing in the estuary, bbq on the terrace and all just for us.

Walk right off the patio onto the sand. The House at Sand Dollar Cove the most idyllic beachfront getaway we’ve found in a couple of decades exploring around Costa Rica.

If you’re looking to get away from it all, spend days playing in the surf at your own “private” beach, and then fire up the grill on the patio as the sun sinks into the Pacific waves at your back you’re not going to find a better place to do it.

Tucked into the private cove on the north side of Estero Miguel at the foot of Cerro San Miguel the modern home has four air conditioned bedrooms and three bathrooms with a fully equipped modern kitchen and large outdoor bbq, dining and living area.

The two upstairs master bedrooms have private baths (one with a Jacuzzi) and a shared balcony with rockers overlooking the beach (the photo below was taken from here) and the two downstairs bedrooms share a large bath. Completely private – the only sounds you’re likely to hear are howler monkeys on Punta Bejuco and the waves.

Published Dec 25, 2010

Owner's Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day!! We've recently updated our master bathroom, removed the jacuzzi and installed a beautiful shower!

Paradise found at Sand Dollar Cove!!!!!

5/5

Stayed Mar 2010

Carolanne and NickPlano, TX

We knew our vacation was going to be a wonderful adventure from the moment we began the drive to Sand Dollar Cove in the dark! Little did we know that when the sun rose the next morning we had actually driven to paradise! Sand Dollar Cove exceeded our expectations in every way imaginable……the tranquility, beauty and solitude was so recharging for all of us – we truly could have stayed and stayed and stayed! Everyone was so helpful and delightful - especially Pat, Cheo and Graziela. The information packet was filled with everything you could want to know. We plan on returning next year!!!

Published Mar 27, 2010

I wish they would have let the property manager know their concerns because she would have insisted the house be cleaned properly and provided extra fans for their comfort as well.

I am glad they had a fantastic time and are definitely recommending the house in spite of the inconveniences. It really is a heavenly spot !

I’ve spent time in many h...

5/5

Stayed Feb 2010

Lisa Re.Charleston, SC

I’ve spent time in many hammocks over the years, but this place was so relaxing, I was actually able to take a nap in one! I slept well in the comfortable beds, enjoyed hot showers and the beach was so beautiful, I was motivated to get up for early morning walks. I could always count on finding whole sand dollars. Down at Rossi’s restaurant, Marbeth makes the best Guacamole. Everything about this town was great. Even driving on the dirt roads was a great experience. It’s easy to see why people would want to move to this small town. I could live there!

Published Apr 14, 2010

We had an amazing time. G...

5/5

Stayed Aug 2009

Baltimore, MDBaltimore, MD

We had an amazing time. Getting "lost" was half the fun-- no fault of the owner's directions, our dated GPS system took us through a river...but it started our experience off on an exciting note!

The house was gorgeous and the beach was pristine. Pat, the property manager, was amazing with her welcome and directions out of town. Her husband gave me surf lessons, but we otherwise stayed undisturbed at the house. The towels and sheets were fluffy and perfect, and all of the kitchen was top of the line.

Howler monkeys wished us good morning and good night, but it took a night to train our ear to the sound. The locals were very welcoming and the nearby grocery stores are an added bonus to the adventure...driving through fields and pastures and everything Costa Rica.

I can't say enough good things about this little treasure trove sand dollar cove. Even the drive home, through three mountains and sundry different communities, was exciting and interesting and full of amazing views.

It's worth it to plan ahead and stay awhile in this magical little place. You wont find many other beaches like this one in Costa Rica...I traveled all over the country and Playa San Miguel, the house and the whole experience was a highlight of my stay.

Published Mar 14, 2010

I vacationed at Sand Doll...

5/5

Stayed Aug 2009

Marie RodriguezGoose Creek, SC

I vacationed at Sand Dollar Cove in January and

March of this year and both times were simply

amazing...If you don't want the waves to sing you

to sleep or the howling of the monkeys to wake you

up then this isn't the vacation for you. The house is

gorgeous and sits at the end of the isolated beach.

The crystal blue waters of the Pacific Ocean are a

few small steps away. I loved every second I was

there...the sunsets are breathtaking, the sunrises

are worth getting out of bed to see, and if you are a

nature buff....wow. The Ticos in the area are

friendly and love it when you at least try to speak a

little Spanish. And the food....yummy (I highly

recommend Los Corrales). Paradise almost isn't

enough to describe this place because it was so

much more than that. I would highly recommend

this spot if you were looking for a relaxing getaway

from everything. Love it and cannot wait to go

back!!

Published Mar 14, 2010

 

The Definition of Paradise!

5/5

Stayed Aug 2009

Ken & MaryCharleston, SC

By far, this was the most peaceful, relaxing vacation we have ever taken. We were fortunate to be there during the full moon, and the beach at night, was almost as bright as day. The sunsets and sunrises from the outdoor living area and the upstairs balcony were truly beautiful. In the evening we were treated with a family of monkeys playing and eating in the trees by the house. In the morning we were awakened by colorful parrots resting in the palm trees. The house was nestled in a cove at one end of the beach. totally private and secluded. I guess we could say this was the definition of paradise in our eyes and hearts. Looking forward to returning!

Published Feb 28, 2010

I loved every second I was there...

5/5

Stayed Jan 2009

Marie R.Goose Creek, SC

I vacationed at Sand Dollar Cove in January and March of this year and both times were simply amazing...If you don't want the waves to sing you to sleep or the howling of the monkeys to wake you up then this isn't the vacation for you. The house is gorgeous and sits at the end of the isolated beach. The crystal blue waters of the Pacific Ocean are a few small steps away. I loved every second I was there...the sunsets are breathtaking, the sunrises are worth getting out of bed to see, and if you are a nature buff....wow. The Ticos in the area are friendly and love it when you at least try to speak a little Spanish. And the food....yummy (I highly recommend Los Corrales). Paradise almost isn't enough to describe this place because it was so much more than that. I would highly recommend this spot if you were looking for a relaxing getaway from everything. Love it and cannot wait to go back!!

Published Feb 24, 2010